Brita Water Filters Review: America's Default, But Is It Good Enough?
Most people never read a Brita water filters review before they buy one, which is fair, because the name's been the default on the shelf for long enough to do the deciding on its own. Nine live records sit in the index. Five are bodies you fill, 2 are spout fixtures, and 2 are the cartridge packs that feed them. The lineup splits into 2 cartridge families, and that split is worth about 2 cents a gallon and a lead listing.
Brita Water Filters: 3 Classes, 9 Records, 2 Cartridge Families
The lineup covers 3 classes and it's small enough to count. Five bodies hold water: the 10 cup Everyday Elite, the Tahoe 10 cup, the 6 cup compact twice over, and the 27 cup UltraMax dispenser. Two fixtures screw onto a spout, and both carry the same model number, SAFF-100/FF-100, in white or chrome. The last 2 records are cartridge packs on their own.
The count matters less than what sits inside the boxes. Brita sells 2 cartridges, and both fit the same sockets. That's why the same 6 cup jug and the same 27 cup dispenser turn up on both sides of the family line.
The plastic does not decide the water. The box does.
- Fillers: 5 bodies, 10 cups to 27 cups, every one of them built for both cartridges. The Stream line takes neither, and it isn't in this lineup.
- Spout fixtures: 2, sharing one model number. No tools, no plumbing and no counter space, at 0.58 gpm, which is about 6.5 seconds for an 8 ounce glass.
- The 2 cartridge families: the Standard part rated 40 gallons, and the Elite part rated 100 gallons at the tap or 120 in a body.
- Documentation: 9 of 9 records name a standard. Five publish a rated capacity. Not one prints a certificate or listing number a reader can key into a registry.
- Money: the cartridge packs sit under $20, and the 27 cup dispenser sits just under $60.
What that adds up to at your tap: the family in the box decides what you drink. The Standard part buys chlorine, taste and odor, copper, mercury and cadmium, which is standard 42. The Elite part adds lead and a longer list, which is standard 53. Everything else in this lineup is packaging.
Think of it this way
Two engines under one badge. The 6 cup jug and the 27 cup body are sold with either cartridge, so the shape of the plastic tells you nothing about the water. What separates the 2 boxes is 80 gallons of rating and a lead listing.
Brita Water Filters Review: 6 of 7 for the Faucet Mount
Every product in this index is rated 1 to 7 across seven verifiable criteria. One point per criterion. No partial credit. A brand page carries the scorecard of its strongest record rather than an average, because an average would hide the one part here that is worth buying.
The faucet mount holds the top of this lineup, and it's the only Brita record naming 3 standards and a flow rate at the same time. Its one zero is the zero every page in this index shares: no certificate number. The full argument, including the flow figure that moved that page up a line, is on the Brita faucet mount review, and the table below is that page's, row for row.
Each line asks two questions: is the number on the record, and does it hold up against the rest of the field. The second question is where a body with no cartridge detail loses its footing.
| Criterion | Points | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Certified removal scope | 1 point | Three standards in one WQA certification, with chlorine, particulate Class I and lead carrying published percentages |
| Certification and test transparency | 0 points | The sheet publishes the standards, the capacity, the flow rate and the pressure range, and no certificate or listing number |
| Filter life and rated capacity | 1 point | 100 gallons and 378 liters, which is the figure the certification is written against |
| Cost per gallon | 1 point | About 15 to 18 cents on Brita's own cartridge prices, at the cheap end of the class, against 13 to 15 cents for the PUR cartridge in our records |
| Flow rate and pressure drop | 1 point | 0.58 gpm and 20 to 100 psig both published, about 6.5 seconds for an 8 ounce glass |
| Install and footprint | 1 point | No tools, no plumbing, one twist on a standard spout, and no counter or cabinet space given up |
| Maintenance burden | 1 point | About 3 cartridges a year at Brita's own household volume, a twist and no soak, with an indicator that resets itself |
One line sits at zero, and it's the same line on every page here. The fixture publishes the standards, the capacity in gallons and liters, the flow rate, the pressure range, the test pressure and a percentage beside each substance. What it never publishes is a number a reader can key into a registry, and 0 of the 9 records here print one.
NI-66997 is the code on the foot of the sheet, and it names the document rather than the certification. Four other records in this lineup are thinner than that, and they thin out the same way.
Who the Brita Water Filters Fit, and Who They Don't
The pitchers fit a household that wants cold water in a fridge door and won't drill a counter. The fixtures fit a renter with a standard spout, no tools and 2 minutes of patience. The 27 cup dispenser fits a kitchen pouring for a crowd, and it's the only record here with a spigot.
Capacity is the number to shop on, and 4 records don't publish it. A 40 gallon part on a 2 month clock and a 120 gallon part on a 6 month clock cost about the same to own. The difference is who does the changing.
This Is Not Your Lineup If
- You need a listing number for a landlord, a school or an inspector. Nothing in this lineup prints one, and neither does anything else in the index.
- PFAS is the reason you're reading. Two records name standard 401, and 7 do not.
- You want the filter out of sight. Brita sells nothing under the counter and nothing whole house, so the under sink class is where that decision lives.
- You pour 2 glasses a day. The clock retires the 40 gallon cartridge either way, and the Small 6 Cup page runs that arithmetic at 4 gallons poured.
The way I see it
Gravity is the whole mechanism. A jug filters at about 6.5 ounces a minute, so a 216 ounce fill on the UltraMax is a 33 minute job, and it's 1 job instead of 3 walks to the tap.
What the Brita Water Filters Lineup Gets Right
The strength here is consistency, and the weakness is the paperwork. Every record names a standard, the bodies share one cartridge thread, and the reminder on the lid counts rather than guesses. The rest is arithmetic.
What You Get
- Standard 42 on all 9 records, from a pack under $20 to the dispenser, so the floor is the same everywhere in the lineup.
- Standard 53 on 5 of the 9 records, which is the line separating a taste filter from a health filter.
- One cartridge family fits every body except Stream, so a household can change jugs without changing what it rebuys.
- SmartLight on the bodies and a status indicator on the fixtures, so the reminder follows the water rather than the wall calendar.
What It Costs You
- Zero certificate or listing numbers across the 9 records, which is the same zero the whole index carries.
- Lead comes only from the Elite box, so the cheapest part on the shelf is the one that skips the health listing.
- Four records publish no rated capacity at all, and there's nothing to divide on them.
- The 2 month clock retires the Standard part on a light household, which the Small 6 Cup review prices out.
What Brita Water Filters Cost per Gallon
Every figure below is a band, because retail prices move. The only honest way to compare these parts is the cartridge divided by the gallons it is rated for, so that's the math here.
- The Standard cartridge: the 3 pack sits under $20, which is about $5 a cartridge over 40 gallons, or about 13 cents a gallon.
- The Elite pitcher cartridge: 120 gallons at about 15 cents, so 3 times the water for about 2 cents more a gallon.
- The Elite spout cartridge: 100 gallons at about 15 to 18 cents on the maker's own cartridge prices, which is the row on the faucet mount review.
A gallon a day is about 365 gallons a year, and that's the number the clock is really charging against. The Standard part retires every 2 months, so a year is about 6 changes and roughly $30. The Elite part runs 6 months in a jug, so a year is about 2 changes and roughly $36. At the spout, the 4 month rhythm is about 3 changes and roughly $45 to $54.
The half of the story the tag drops. The cheap box is cheaper per gallon by about 2 cents, and it costs about 4 more errands a year. Which one's cheaper depends on whether you price your own time.
One 3 pack covers about a year at the spout on the 4 month rhythm.
Brita Water Filters Review: The 9 Records Side by Side
Every row comes from our records, with the standards and the rated life taken from the catalog rather than a maker's chart. The bands are ranges rather than live figures. The points column carries each part's own page score, and 4 rows are waiting for the page that scores them.
| Part | Class | Certified | Rated life | Upfront band | Points |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brita Faucet Mount (B082THPM2H) | Spout fixture | 42, 53, 401 | 100 gal | $40 to $50 | 6/7 |
| Brita Everyday Elite Pitcher (B0B3BM3Z94) | 10 cup pitcher | 42, 53, 401 | 120 gal | $40 to $50 | 5/7 |
| Brita Tahoe 10 Cup (B0BSHJJJGX) | 10 cup pitcher | 42 | 40 gal | $50 to $60 | 4/7 |
| Brita Small 6 Cup (B09W4PLVQP) | 6 cup pitcher | 42 | 40 gal | under $20 | 4/7 |
| Brita Original Cartridge 3 Pack (B00004SU18) | Cartridge pack | 42 | 40 gal | under $20 | 4/7 |
| Brita Small 6 Cup, Elite cartridge (B09W4PJMGZ) | 6 cup pitcher | 42, 53 | not stated | $30 to $40 | not scored |
| Brita UltraMax 27 Cup Dispenser (B0G84Y711W) | Dispenser | 42 | not stated | $50 to $60 | not scored |
| Brita Elite Chrome Faucet System (B082TJ7XRV) | Spout fixture | 42, 53 | not stated | $30 to $40 | not scored |
| Brita Elite Faucet Cartridge 3 Pack (B079K5MR2F) | Cartridge pack | 42, 53 | not stated | $40 to $50 | not scored |
Three things fall out of that table. The spout fixture takes the top, the 120 gallon body takes the second, and the 2 cheapest records are the pair running the 40 gallon cartridge. The Elite side costs about $10 to $15 more up front and about 2 cents a gallon.
The trade is legible. Standard 42 buys chlorine, taste and odor. Standard 53 buys lead.
Standard 401 adds a short list of pharmaceuticals on top. Two records in this lineup name all 3, and both sit under $50.
If lead is the reason you're here, the lead removal roundup asks the same question of every class in the index, across all 12 of them. The ZeroWater lineup answers it with a different mechanism, and the PUR lineup is the other brand page this aisle gets compared against.
Put another way
Turn the 9 boxes around. The badge is on the front of every one of them, and the back is where the counting starts: 4 list 1 standard, 3 list 2, and 2 list all 3.
The same 100 gallon cartridge in chrome, with 2 filters in the box.
Brita Water Filters Review FAQ
- Is the certification on the pitcher or on the cartridge
- It travels with the cartridge. Every Brita body takes either the Standard part or the Elite part, and the standard named follows the box rather than the plastic. The same 6 cup jug is a 42 record with one cartridge and a 42 and 53 record with the other.
- Do the Brita Elite filters remove lead
- Yes, and the Standard ones do not. Elite carries standard 53, which is the health effects list where lead sits. Standard carries 42 alone, which covers chlorine, taste, odor and particulate class. That is the whole difference between the 2 boxes, and that's why the cheap side of this lineup is cheap.
- How many Brita cartridges does a household use in a year
- Six on the Standard part at a gallon a day, because the 2 month clock retires a 40 gallon cartridge before the rating runs out. Two on the Elite part in a jug, which carries a 6 month rhythm. The gallons are not the binding number. The calendar is.
- Will the cheaper cartridge fit the same pitcher
- Yes, and the fit is mechanical. The Standard part drops into every Brita body except Stream, and the Elite part fits the same sockets. What changes with the box is the standard named, the rated gallons and about 2 cents a gallon.
- Which Brita record names the most standards
- The faucet mount and the Everyday Elite pitcher, both with 42, 53 and 401 on the record. The faucet mount is the only one of the 2 that publishes a flow rate beside them. The rest of the lineup names 42 alone or 42 and 53. That's 9 records naming a standard between them and not one printing the number behind it.
Brita Water Filters Review: Where the Lineup Lands
The lineup sorts into 2 boxes rather than 9 products. Every record here ships the Standard cartridge or the Elite one, and the cartridge decides the standard named, the rated gallons and the cents. The plastic decides the pour.
The pick is the spout fixture: the only record naming 3 standards and a flow rate at the same time, and the only one that asks nothing of your counter or your pipes.
For a jug, read the Everyday Elite first: 120 gallons, 2 changes a year, about 15 cents a gallon, and 401 on the sheet. The Tahoe and the Small 6 Cup run the 40 gallon cartridge at about 6 changes a year, which is the bill nobody advertises. The Original 3 pack is the cheapest gallon in the lineup at about 13 cents.
Start with the contaminant you can name, then let the cents decide. If lead is the reason you are reading, the cheap box is the wrong box, whatever the tag says.
One number settles it: 5 of the 9 records name the health list, and every one of them carries the Elite cartridge.
Rebuy the Part, Not the Plastic
Every body in this lineup runs on 2 cartridges, and the difference between them is a lead listing. Whichever jug or fixture you start with, the box you rebuy decides the water.
Every Standard the Brita Water Filters Name
- NSF/ANSI 42
- The aesthetic effects standard: chlorine, taste, odor and particulate class. All 9 records name it, which makes it the floor rather than the selling point.
- NSF/ANSI 53
- The health effects standard, certified per listing, covering lead, chromium, mercury and named compounds. Five records name it, and every one of those 5 carries the Elite cartridge.
- NSF/ANSI 401
- Emerging compounds, a separate listing from the health standard, covering a short list of pharmaceuticals and flame retardants. Two records name it, the Everyday Elite pitcher and the faucet mount.
- Carbon block
- The mechanism inside both cartridges: carbon pressed into a solid rather than left as loose granules, so water passes through the media instead of around it.
- SmartLight
- The indicator on the bodies. It counts the water that has gone through the cartridge rather than watching the calendar, and it resets itself.
Keep Reading: More Brita Water Filters
- Best Water Filters: the parent hub, 136 records across 12 classes, all scored the same way.
- Best Pitcher Water Filters: where 4 of these bodies sit against 18 pitcher records in the index.
- Best Faucet Mount Water Filters: the 8 fixture class the 2 tap records here compete in.
- The Nerd Stamp Methodology: how the 1 to 7 rating is calculated and what each line asks.
