# Brita Water Filters Review

# Brita Water Filters Review: America's Default, But Is It Good Enough?

**strong** Nine live records sit in the index. Five are bodies you fill, 2 are spout fixtures, and 2 are the cartridge packs that feed them. The lineup splits into 2 cartridge families, and that split is worth about *em*.

[Brita Water Filters Lineup](#specs)
[Brita Filters Review Scorecard](#score)
[Brita Water Filters Fit](#who)
[Brita Filters Review Trade-offs](#proscons)
[Brita Water Filters Cost per Gallon](#cost)
[Brita Water Filters Compared](#compare)
[Brita Filters Review FAQ](#faq)
[Brita Water Filters: Where It Lands](#verdict)

**strong** This article contains affiliate links. **strong** at *em*. **strong** retail prices move daily, so we quote ranges and send you to the live figure on the listing. **strong** *em* Every number on this page traces to manufacturer documentation or a certification record, held against the claims on the box. No free products, no paid placements, no manufacturer relationships. Scoring rules are public on our [methodology page](/methodology).

[](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082THPM2H?tag=waterfilternerd-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1)

## Brita Water Filters: 3 Classes, 9 Records, 2 Cartridge Families

**strong** Five bodies hold water: the 10 cup Everyday Elite, the Tahoe 10 cup, the 6 cup compact twice over, and the 27 cup [UltraMax dispenser](/brita-ultramax-dispenser-review). Two fixtures screw onto a spout, and both carry the same model number, SAFF-100/FF-100, in white or chrome. The last 2 records are cartridge packs on their own.

The count matters less than what sits inside the boxes. **strong** That's why the same 6 cup jug and the same 27 cup dispenser turn up on both sides of the family line.

*em*

- Fillers: 5 bodies, 10 cups to 27 cups, every one of them built for both cartridges. The Stream line takes neither, and it isn't in this lineup.

- Spout fixtures: 2, sharing one model number. No tools, no plumbing and no counter space, at 0.58 gpm, which is about 6.5 seconds for an 8 ounce glass.

- The 2 cartridge families: the Standard part rated 40 gallons, and the Elite part rated 100 gallons at the tap or 120 in a body.

- Documentation: 9 of 9 records name a standard. Five publish a rated capacity. Not one prints a certificate or listing number a reader can key into a registry.

- Money: the cartridge packs sit under $20, and the 27 cup dispenser sits just under $60.

**strong** the family in the box decides what you drink. The Standard part buys chlorine, taste and odor, copper, mercury and cadmium, which is standard 42. The Elite part adds lead and a longer list, which is standard 53. *em*

Think of it this way

**strong** The 6 cup jug and the 27 cup body are sold with either cartridge, so the shape of the plastic tells you nothing about the water. What separates the 2 boxes is 80 gallons of rating and a lead listing.

Rated Gallons per Cartridge, by Family
Bar chart of rated gallons per cartridge: the Standard pitcher part at 40 gallons, the Elite faucet cartridge at 100 gallons, and the Elite pitcher cartridge at 120 gallons.
Rated Gallons per Cartridge, by Family
Published capacity, 3 Brita parts

- 0 40 80 120 Standard, pitcher Elite, faucet Elite, pitcher 40 gal 100 gal 120 gal The 4 records with no published capacity are not on this chart. Figure 1. One brand, a 3 times spread in rated gallons, decided entirely by which box the household buys. Want the pitcher the lineup is built on? ## Brita Water Filters Review: 6 of 7 for the Faucet Mount Every product in this index is rated 1 to 7 across seven verifiable criteria. One point per criterion. No partial credit. A brand page carries the scorecard of its strongest record rather than an average, because an average would hide the one part here that is worth buying. The faucet mount holds the top of this lineup, and it's the only Brita record naming 3 standards and a flow rate at the same time. Its one zero is the zero every page in this index shares: no certificate number. The full argument, including the flow figure that moved that page up a line, is on the Brita faucet mount review, and the table below is that page's, row for row. Each line asks two questions: is the number on the record, and does it hold up against the rest of the field. The second question is where a body with no cartridge detail loses its footing. CriterionPointsEvidence Certified removal scope1 pointThree standards in one WQA certification, with chlorine, particulate Class I and lead carrying published percentages Certification and test transparency0 pointsThe sheet publishes the standards, the capacity, the flow rate and the pressure range, and no certificate or listing number Filter life and rated capacity1 point100 gallons and 378 liters, which is the figure the certification is written against Cost per gallon1 pointAbout 15 to 18 cents on Brita's own cartridge prices, at the cheap end of the class, against 13 to 15 cents for the PUR cartridge in our records Flow rate and pressure drop1 point0.58 gpm and 20 to 100 psig both published, about 6.5 seconds for an 8 ounce glass Install and footprint1 pointNo tools, no plumbing, one twist on a standard spout, and no counter or cabinet space given up Maintenance burden1 pointAbout 3 cartridges a year at Brita's own household volume, a twist and no soak, with an indicator that resets itself One line sits at zero, and it's the same line on every page here. The fixture publishes the standards, the capacity in gallons and liters, the flow rate, the pressure range, the test pressure and a percentage beside each substance. What it never publishes is a number a reader can key into a registry, and 0 of the 9 records here print one. NI-66997 is the code on the foot of the sheet, and it names the document rather than the certification. Four other records in this lineup are thinner than that, and they thin out the same way. Put the 401 rival beside the pick ## Who the Brita Water Filters Fit, and Who They Don't The pitchers fit a household that wants cold water in a fridge door and won't drill a counter. The fixtures fit a renter with a standard spout, no tools and 2 minutes of patience. The 27 cup dispenser fits a kitchen pouring for a crowd, and it's the only record here with a spigot. Capacity is the number to shop on, and 4 records don't publish it. A 40 gallon part on a 2 month clock and a 120 gallon part on a 6 month clock cost about the same to own. The difference is who does the changing. #### This Is Not Your Lineup If You need a listing number for a landlord, a school or an inspector. Nothing in this lineup prints one, and neither does anything else in the index.

- PFAS is the reason you're reading. Two records name standard 401, and 7 do not.

- You want the filter out of sight. Brita sells nothing under the counter and nothing whole house, so the under sink class is where that decision lives.

- You pour 2 glasses a day. The clock retires the 40 gallon cartridge either way, and the Small 6 Cup page runs that arithmetic at 4 gallons poured.

The way I see it

Gravity is the whole mechanism. A jug filters at about 6.5 ounces a minute, so a 216 ounce fill on the UltraMax is a 33 minute job, and it's 1 job instead of 3 walks to the tap.

What Each Brita Record Names
Bar chart of the standards named by each record: 4 parts name 42 alone, 3 name 42 and 53, and 2 name 42, 53 and 401.
What Each Brita Record Names
Standards on the record, 9 parts

- 0 2 4 42 alone 42 and 53 42, 53 and 401 4 of 9 3 of 9 2 of 9 Every one of the 4 records naming 42 alone ships the Standard cartridge. Figure 2. Every record names a standard. Five name the health list, and all 5 of those carry the Elite cartridge. Feeding a crowd? The 27 cup dispenser ## What the Brita Water Filters Lineup Gets Right The strength here is consistency, and the weakness is the paperwork. Every record names a standard, the bodies share one cartridge thread, and the reminder on the lid counts rather than guesses. The rest is arithmetic. #### What You Get Standard 42 on all 9 records, from a pack under $20 to the dispenser, so the floor is the same everywhere in the lineup.

- Standard 53 on 5 of the 9 records, which is the line separating a taste filter from a health filter.

- One cartridge family fits every body except Stream, so a household can change jugs without changing what it rebuys.

- SmartLight on the bodies and a status indicator on the fixtures, so the reminder follows the water rather than the wall calendar.

#### What It Costs You

- Zero certificate or listing numbers across the 9 records, which is the same zero the whole index carries.

- Lead comes only from the Elite box, so the cheapest part on the shelf is the one that skips the health listing.

- Four records publish no rated capacity at all, and there's nothing to divide on them.

- The 2 month clock retires the Standard part on a light household, which the Small 6 Cup review prices out.

[Keep the gallon cheap, 3 cartridges at a time](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00004SU18?tag=waterfilternerd-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1)

## What Brita Water Filters Cost per Gallon

**strong** The only honest way to compare these parts is *em*, so that's the math here.

- The Standard cartridge: the 3 pack sits under $20, which is about $5 a cartridge over 40 gallons, or about 13 cents a gallon.

- The Elite pitcher cartridge: 120 gallons at about 15 cents, so 3 times the water for about 2 cents more a gallon.

- The Elite spout cartridge: 100 gallons at about 15 to 18 cents on the maker's own cartridge prices, which is the row on the faucet mount review.

A gallon a day is about 365 gallons a year, and that's the number the clock is really charging against. **strong** The Elite part runs 6 months in a jug, so a year is about 2 changes and roughly $36. At the spout, the 4 month rhythm is about 3 changes and roughly $45 to $54.

*em* The cheap box is cheaper per gallon by about 2 cents, and it costs about 4 more errands a year. Which one's cheaper depends on whether you price your own time.

[Price the Elite cartridge by the gallon, not the box](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079K5MR2F?tag=waterfilternerd-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1)

One 3 pack covers about a year at the spout on the 4 month rhythm.

## Brita Water Filters Review: The 9 Records Side by Side

**strong** The bands are ranges rather than live figures. The points column carries each part's own page score, and *em*.

PartClassCertifiedRated lifeUpfront bandPoints

**strong**Spout fixture**strong****strong****strong****strong**
Brita Everyday Elite Pitcher (B0B3BM3Z94)10 cup pitcher42, 53, 401120 gal$40 to $505/7
Brita Tahoe 10 Cup (B0BSHJJJGX)10 cup pitcher4240 gal$50 to $604/7
Brita Small 6 Cup (B09W4PLVQP)6 cup pitcher4240 galunder $204/7
Brita Original Cartridge 3 Pack (B00004SU18)Cartridge pack4240 galunder $204/7
Brita Small 6 Cup, Elite cartridge (B09W4PJMGZ)6 cup pitcher42, 53not stated$30 to $40not scored
Brita UltraMax 27 Cup Dispenser (B0G84Y711W)Dispenser42not stated$50 to $60not scored
Brita Elite Chrome Faucet System (B082TJ7XRV)Spout fixture42, 53not stated$30 to $40not scored
Brita Elite Faucet Cartridge 3 Pack (B079K5MR2F)Cartridge pack42, 53not stated$40 to $50not scored

**strong** The spout fixture takes the top, the 120 gallon body takes the second, and the 2 cheapest records are the pair running the 40 gallon cartridge. *em*

*em* Standard 42 buys chlorine, taste and odor. Standard 53 buys lead.

Standard 401 adds a short list of pharmaceuticals on top. **strong**

If lead is the reason you're here, the [lead removal roundup](/best-lead-removal-filters) asks the same question of *em*, across all 12 of them. The [ZeroWater lineup](/zerowater-review) answers it with a different mechanism, and the [PUR lineup](/pur-review) is the other brand page this aisle gets compared against.

Put another way

Turn the 9 boxes around. The badge is on the front of every one of them, and the back is where the counting starts: 4 list 1 standard, 3 list 2, and 2 list all 3.

[Want the pick in chrome?](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082TJ7XRV?tag=waterfilternerd-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1)

The same 100 gallon cartridge in chrome, with 2 filters in the box.

## Brita Water Filters Review FAQ

**strong**
It travels with the cartridge. Every Brita body takes either the Standard part or the Elite part, and the standard named follows the box rather than the plastic. The same 6 cup jug is a 42 record with one cartridge and a 42 and 53 record with the other.
**strong**
Yes, and the Standard ones do not. Elite carries standard 53, which is *em*. Standard carries 42 alone, which covers chlorine, taste, odor and particulate class. That is the whole difference between the 2 boxes, and that's why the cheap side of this lineup is cheap.
**strong**
Six on the Standard part at a gallon a day, because *em*. Two on the Elite part in a jug, which carries a 6 month rhythm. *em*
**strong**
Yes, and the fit is mechanical. The Standard part drops into every Brita body except Stream, and the Elite part fits the same sockets. What changes with the box is the standard named, the rated gallons and about 2 cents a gallon.
**strong**
The faucet mount and the Everyday Elite pitcher, both with 42, 53 and 401 on the record. The faucet mount is the only one of the 2 that publishes a flow rate beside them. The rest of the lineup names 42 alone or 42 and 53. That's 9 records naming a standard between them and not one printing the number behind it.

## Brita Water Filters Review: Where the Lineup Lands

**strong** Every record here ships the Standard cartridge or the Elite one, and *em* the standard named, the rated gallons and the cents. The plastic decides the pour.

The pick is the [spout fixture](/brita-faucet-mount-review): the only record naming 3 standards and a flow rate at the same time, and the only one that asks *em*.

For a jug, read the [Everyday Elite](/brita-everyday-elite-review) first: 120 gallons, 2 changes a year, about 15 cents a gallon, and 401 on the sheet. The [Tahoe](/brita-tahoe-10-cup-review) and the [Small 6 Cup](/brita-small-6-cup-review) run the 40 gallon cartridge at about 6 changes a year, which is the bill nobody advertises. The [Original 3 pack](/brita-replacement-filter-review) is the cheapest gallon in the lineup at about 13 cents.

**strong** *em*

**strong**

[Put the faucet mount on your tap](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082THPM2H?tag=waterfilternerd-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1)

### Rebuy the Part, Not the Plastic

Every body in this lineup runs on 2 cartridges, and the difference between them is *em*. Whichever jug or fixture you start with, the box you rebuy decides the water.

[Everyday Elite, the pitcher to start with](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B3BM3Z94?tag=waterfilternerd-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1)

## Every Standard the Brita Water Filters Name

**strong**
The aesthetic effects standard: chlorine, taste, odor and particulate class. All 9 records name it, which makes it *em*.
**strong**
The health effects standard, *em*, covering lead, chromium, mercury and named compounds. Five records name it, and every one of those 5 carries the Elite cartridge.
**strong**
Emerging compounds, a separate listing from the health standard, covering a short list of pharmaceuticals and flame retardants. Two records name it, the Everyday Elite pitcher and the faucet mount.
**strong**
The mechanism inside both cartridges: carbon pressed into a solid rather than left as loose granules, so *em*.
**strong**
The indicator on the bodies. It counts the water that has gone through the cartridge rather than watching the calendar, and it resets itself.

## Keep Reading: More Brita Water Filters

- Best Water Filters: the parent hub, 136 records across 12 classes, all scored the same way.

- Best Pitcher Water Filters: where 4 of these bodies sit against 18 pitcher records in the index.

- Best Faucet Mount Water Filters: the 8 fixture class the 2 tap records here compete in.

- The Nerd Stamp Methodology: how the 1 to 7 rating is calculated and what each line asks.
